Visa and entry requirements in Togo

It is the responsibility of each participant to ensure that he/she meets the entry requirements in Togo.

All the travelers who are from countries not included in ECOWAS and who are not NANSEN passport holders must get a visa before entering in Togo.

Note: Some countries like South Africa and Romania are exempt from entry visa to TOGO. Consulates can issue only three types of visas: tourist visa, diplomatic visa and business visa. Only embassies are allowed to issue an immigrant visa for Togo.

How to get the visa in TOGO

Visas are issued in the territory by the immigration services at land border posts and at Gnassingbé Eyadéma International Airport for a maximum duration of 7 days. Upon arrival in Lomé the visa validity period may be extended up to one month with the Office of foreigners and passports located at Bè-Klikanmé, GTA-C2A building in Lome, on presentation of proofs of stay, 4 photographs and the payment of a tax of 10,000 CFA francs or 20 euros (depending on the currency of payment).

Required documents and procedure

The following documents are needed:

  • A Passport which validity exceeds six months at the end of your stay in Togo and with an entirely free page to put the Togolese visa.
  • 3 recent photos. Write at the back the name and surname.
  • 2 Visa application sheets well filled in and signed.
  • An evidence of Roundtrip ticket (photocopy of the ticket or booking proof).
  • An accommodation certificate or hotel booking.

To obtain a business visa: a mission statement or a letter of invitation specifying all the details of the partner in Togo.

When you are a journalist :

  • your professional ID card
  • certificate of your structure,
  • a list of your team members,
  • the accreditation the Ministry of Communication and Civic Education of Togo,
  • a stamped envelope with address for returning the visa by registered mail.

Consulate of France in Togo also provides consular services for other European states. It is therefore authorized to receive visa applications of any person residing in Togo whose main destination is one of the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Spain, Greece, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Sweden. For more than 90 days of stay, a long stay visa, leading to the attribution of a residence permit for foreigner, will be needed and can be issued at the Office of foreigners and passports.

Warning: this procedure can be long once there and if the papers provided are not licensed, you can be denied entry to the country

Exemptions: Some countries like South Africa and Romania are exempt from the visa TOGO given a diplomatic agreement signed between these countries and the Togolese State.

Tourist Visa (VTE): Entente Touristic Visa has been established to allow the tourist to visit if desired, at least two of the 5 countries of the Council of the Agreement constituted by Togo, Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso and Niger. With a duration of 60 days, it is issued by the Office of foreigners and passports in Togo and costs 25,000 CFA francs.

Warning: a passenger having no Togolese identity paper (passport or identity card), whether he/she is black, speaks a national language or is cousin with an airport baggage handler is a foreign passenger and as such must have a visa.